Board of Education to Announce New Memebers

Board of Education to Announce New Members
Posted on 01/13/2020
APS logo
News Release written in bold headline print with APS logo

For additional information, contact:

Mark Williamson

Marketing Communications 

10 N. Main St.

Akron, Ohio 44308-1958 


 [email protected] 




Released 01/13/20   









































APS: Board of Education's New Members

Monday, January 13, 2020 - The Akron Board of Education will have four new board members after this evening's meeting. 

Newly elected members Valerie McKitrick, Derrick Hall and N.J. Akbar, Ph.D., will be sworn in and begin working with veteran board members Bruce Alexander, Lisa Mansfield and Patrick Bravo. All three are past presidents; one is likely to be named the new board president. 

Valerie McKitrick is a teacher with more than 21 years of experience. She graduated from The University of Akron with a bachelor's degree in French and education. McKitrick earned her master's in education from UA. 

N.J. Akbar, Ph.D., is active in many areas of the Akron community and is assistant dean of University College at Kent State University. He is responsible for the academic success of first-generation and low-income students. 

Derrick Hall is an attorney who also has a degree in chemistry from The University of Akron. He also earned degrees in pharmacy and business from The Ohio State University. He currently serves at Summa Health Systems specializing in clinical integration and population health. 

The board is expected, although it is not yet official, to appoint Diana Autry to the unexpired term of former board member Ginger Baylor who was elected to Akron City Council. Autry is a long-time advocate for the students of Akron City Schools. She has had two children go through APS and participated in PTA. She is employed at Akron Children's Hospital in the Children's After Hours Department. 

Tonight's board meeting is expected to draw a number of people coming to wish Rev. Dr. Curtis T. Walker, Sr., well as he leaves the board after 20 years of service.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.